Falafel

Falafel is our traditional “take away sandwich”. It is like a vegetarian hamburger made in the Lebanese way. I remember when I was in complementary school, during our long  lunch break once a week, two of my best friends and I managed to escape from school to go down town and buy a Falafel sandwich and a bottle of Pepsi Cola, and we would come back to school and enjoy our lunch. I was amazed by the way the man could fry them so fast and then roll them quickly with vegetables in the pita to make a delicious sandwich. And above all this, I was totally in love with the smell of the frying pieces of Falafel.

I thought that it was very complicated to make them at home. But when I grew up I figured out the recipe so I can enjoy eating them any time I wanted to right at home.

A few years ago however, I found the perfect recipe for a home made Falafel. I want to share this with you.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of chick peas
  • 2 cups of crushed beans(fava beans)
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh coriander
  • 1 tablespoon Falafel spices
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 3 cloves of crushed garlic
  • oil for frying

Preparation:

  • Soak the chick peas and the crushed beans separately in 2 bowls of water for 24 hours
  • Drain the water and place them, separately in a food processor and mix well
  • Mix the crushed garlic with the fresh coriander and the onion
  • Mix all the ingredients together, season with salt, Falafel spices and the baking soda
  • Heat the oil, take a small piece of the Falafel mixture and put it in the special dispenser (called aleb falafel) and deep fry them until brown color
  • You can eat them with all kinds of vegetables you like: tomatoes, parsley, onion, pickles and lettuce, but the most important is the dip for the Falafel, the taratour

The dip(Taratour preparation):

  • Crush 2 cloves of garlic with salt, add 1 cup of tahini and mix with about 2 cups of water, then press 1 lemon and mix it with them
  • Adjust the lemon and salt to your taste.

ET VOILA…C’EST TOUT:)

Comments

  1. OMG are you kidding me? I love falafel. This is awesome. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!

  2. This falafel looks so crisp and delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe 😀
    Bookmarked for sure!
    And also I appreciate you subscribing to my blog I hope it lives up to your sweet expectations 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I love falafel and it sounds so easy to make. Thank you for posting this!

  4. Looks so good…definitely should make this myself! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Great blog Nina!
    I LOVE falafel! Thank you for the recipe. I am looking forward to trying it.
    I am quite sure I will be a popular mom if I serve this for dinner 🙂

  6. Dear Nina – made your falafel tonight and it was SO good!! I served it with Tahini sauce,Tabouleh and homemade pita bread. Everyone loved it, also the kids 🙂
    Thank you!!

  7. Oh! Great, you made me very happy.. Thank you very much.:)

  8. marhaba..heres is a secret from the best falafel makers from the levant( syria,lebanon,jordan,palestine)..it is still done by the high quality traditional makers..after soaking u should peel the chickpeas, the favas already come peeled..it makes a lighter,fluffier interior crumb, and even crispier exterior,,and so much easier to digest,,,this should aso be done for hummos bi tahineh as well..as this is often eaten out so many home cooks know nothing of it..

  9. This looks like a great recipe. Thank you for letting me know about it. I am adding it to my recipes I want to cook page 🙂

  10. I made these last night. I don’t have the machine to make them but rolled them by hand. I also had some fresh broad/fava beans and used them so they were a lovely green colour. They worked out really well and will definitely be made again. Thanks for the recipe.

  11. I love falafel! It’s actually one of my favorite “after-late-night/early morning-dancing meals”! I had not thought of adding fava beans to the falafel—great idea!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Lebanese cooking from a mother of four who posts recipes for things like biscuits with anise and falafel (my own personal favorite). So if we are keeping track here, I’m supposed to tell you […]

  2. […] Nina’s falafel recipe is here. […]

Leave a comment